The Asia-Pacific Industrial Organization Society connects Industrial Economics researchers in the Asia-Pacific region.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, APIOC 2020 has been postponed and will be held in Singapore in 2021 and in Sydney in 2022. Further information regarding the conference will be available in July 2021. We look forward to seeing everyone in Singapore! 



Message from the APIOC 2019 chair

Jay Pil Choi

Welcome to the 2019 Asia Pacific Industrial Organization Conference (APIOC)

The APIOC was established in 2016 with the aim of fostering and disseminating frontier IO research among scholars in the Asia Pacific region and beyond. The first three conferences were held in Melbourne (in 2016 and 2018) and Auckland (in 2017) and established the APIOC as a premier IO conference, attracting eminent researchers from around the world.

This year the conference is in Tokyo, making this the first time it is held outside of the Oceania region.  I can confidently proclaim that we have created a truly world class academic event, building on the momentum generated from the first three conferences.  This is reflected by the record number of submissions we have received and evidenced by the strong speaker list and high quality papers (both in theory and empirics) in the program.  I am delighted to be associated with the APIOC and honored to serve as the Program Chair.  I also would like to use this opportunity to express my sincere gratitude to the Local Organizing Committee, which has worked tirelessly to make this event successful and enjoyable for all participants.

In closing, I look forward to learning from your research and hope that you also find inspiration in the exceptional research presented at the conference.


Jay Pil Choi

Program Chair

Michigan State University

Jay Pil Choi Picture (002)

APIOS Scientific Board

APIOS Scientific Board 2019

Jay Pil Choi (Chair) – Michigan State University

Luis Cabral – New York University

Yeon-Koo Che – Columbia University

Julian Wright – National University of Singapore


APIOS Executive Board

APIOS Executive Board 2019

Jay Pil Choi (Chair) – Michigan State University

David Byrne – The University of Melbourne

Simona Fabrizi – The University of Auckland

Simon Loertscher – The University of Melbourne

Hiroshi Ohashi – The University of Tokyo

Julian Wright – National University of Singapore

Important Dates

Paper Submission OpensJuly 1
Paper Submission ClosedSeptember 2
Notification of Paper StatusOctober 1
Presenter Registration ClosesNovember 15
Non-Presenter Registration ClosesNovember 29
APIOC 2019
Pre-conference drinks (followed by a symposium organized by Japan Fair Trade Commission*)December 12
Official APIOC ProgramDecember 13 and 14
*For detailed information, please see the program page.


Please get in touch if you have an enquiry regarding the Conference at apioc2019@e.u-tokyo.ac.jp