APIOC 2023

APIOC 2023 will be held in Hong Kong, December 15 – 17. 

Register here.

Message from the APIOC 2023 Chair

Professor Yongmin Chen

The APIOC was established in 2016, with the aim of fostering IO research and building the IO community of scholars in the Asia Pacific region and beyond.  It has quickly become one of the premier annual international IO conferences.  This year the conference will be held in Hong Kong, hosted by the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology and the Center for Economic Policy.

I am honored to serve as the Program Chair for this world-class academic event, working with an excellent team of local organizers.  I hope you will participate by submitting your papers, and I look forward to welcoming you in person at the conference.

Yongmin Chen
Program Chair
University of Colorado Boulder

yongmin chen

Keynote Speakers

Luis Cabral
NYU Stern

Luis Cabral is Paganelli-Bull Professor of Economics and International Business and Chair, Department of Economics at New York University, Stern School of Business.  A native of Portugal, Luís Cabral is a graduate of Stanford University (PhD, Economics, 1989). He taught at the Nova, London Business School, Berkeley, Yale, NYU and IESE prior to joining Stern in 2000.

Cabral’s research is focused on the dynamics of firm competition, both from the antitrust and from the strategy perspectives. His research topics include networks and network effects; innovation; corporate reputation; and has a particular focus on entertainment industries. In addition to numerous journal articles, he is the author of Introduction to Industrial Organization, a textbook translated and adopted by universities in dozens of countries worldwide.

Other than economics, Cabral’s interests include painting and saxophone playing.

Luis Cabral

Frank Verboven
KU Leuven

Frank Verboven is Professor at the Department of Economics of KU Leuven. He received his PhD in Economics from the University of Toronto.  His research interests are industrial organization, competition policy and applied micro-economics.

Frank is a member of IO @ Leuven and Research Fellow at Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR)

Frank Verboven

Invited Speakers

Invited Speakers

Simon Anderson, University of Virginia

Giacomo Calzolari, European University Institute

Yeon-Koo Che, Columbia University

Jay Pil Choi, Michigan State University

Alberto Galasso, University of Toronto

Alessandro Gavazza, London School of Economics

Kei Kawai, UC Berkeley

Margaret Kyle, CERNA, Mines ParisTech

Fei Li, University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill

Jianpei Li, University of International Business and Economics (UIBE)

Simon Loertscher, University of Melbourne

Leslie Marx, Duke University

Robert Miller, Carnegie Mellon University

Jun Nakabayashi, Kyoto University

Andrew Rhodes, Toulouse School of Economics

Matt Shum, California Institute of Technology

Julian Wright, National University of Singapore


The registration fee is HKD 3,200 for regular participants and HKD 780 for students.

If your paper submission is accepted, the registration deadline is October 31, for your paper to be included in the program.

For other participants, the registration deadline is December 1.

Register for APIOC 2023 HERE.


Conference Venue and Accommodation

Conference Venue










The Conference Venue is at Lee Shau Kee Business Building, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Clear Water Bay Campus

Map found here



Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East which is near an MTRF station and a shopping center, offers a special deal for APIOC participants.  To enjoy the discount, participants must book their rooms by October 3, 2023.  The hotel reservation can be canceled before November 30.

To make the booking with the special daily rate, please download and complete the room reservation form and return it by email to the representative of the hotel at coco.lam@cptko.com.

The room reservation form requires you to provide credit card information via email.  In case you have security concerns about this arrangement, you may make your booking direct via the hotel official website.  Note, the special daily rate is not applicable for bookings made via the hotel official website.








Shuttle buses will be arranged between Crowne Plaza and HKUST on every evening of Dec 15, 16, and 17, and every morning of Dec 16 and 17. 


Public transportation

TKO ↔ Hang Hau MTR station; 1 stop by MTR, entrance from the shopping mall (PopCorn) next to CPTKO, there is a sign in the mall. 

Hang Hau MTR station ↔ HKUST north gate;  Minibus 11M (not 11) to the terminal stop, New Territories GMB Route 11M | www.16seats.net, “HKUST” name shown on the window, the bus terminal is found on the ground floor of a building next to the MTR station.  Asking a passenger is recommended. 

HKUST north gate ↔ HKUST Lee Shau Kee building; walk 15 minutes to the south end of the campus 



70-150 HKD, 10 minutes, called at the carpool of Crowne Plaza 


Local Organising Committee

Kohei Kawaguchi, Chair of the Local Organizing Committee, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Pak Hung Au The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Xinyu Hua The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Sunny Huang The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology