Program 2019

APIOC 2019 Program

December 12






December 13 & 14

Pre-conference Drinks at Josui-kaikan (right next to the conference venue) from 17:00.

At the conference venue, Hitotsubashi Hall, there will  be a symposium, “Data Monopolies on Digital Markets and Competition Policy”, organized by the Japan Fair Trade Commission, from 13:30-16:30. Jacques Cremer, Leslie Marx and Tommaso Valletti will make keynote speeches, followed by a round-table discussion.

Everybody is welcome to attend! Please register here by December 6, 2019.


The detailed program can be found here

Information for speakers can be found here.

Images from the conference can be found here.


Keynote Speakers

Mark Armstrong
Oxford University

Mark Armstrong is Professor of Economics at the University of Oxford, where he is also a Fellow of All Souls College. Before moving to Oxford, he was professor at UCL in London. He works mostly in the field of Industrial Organization, especially on topics to do with oligopoly theory, consumer search and other information frictions, and pricing decisions by platforms and other multiproduct firms. He is currently co-editor at the RAND Journal of Economics, and previously was Managing Editor and Chairman of the Review of Economic Studies. He is a Fellow of the British Academy and of the Econometric Society. He received his undergraduate degree in mathematics from Cambridge University, and his doctorate in economics from Oxford in 1992.

Further information: here

Mark Armstrong

Leslie Marx
Duke University

Leslie Marx is the Robert A. Bandeen Professor of Economics at Duke University. She has research interests in the fields of Industrial Organization and Game Theory. Much of her recent work has been concerned with mergers, vertical integration, and antitrust policy. She has published in leading academic journals such as the American Economic Review, Journal of Political Economy, Review of Economic Studies, and Quarterly Journal of Economics. She is a co-editor of the American Economic Journal: Microeconomics and on the editorial board of the International Journal of Game Theory. She received her undergraduate degree in mathematics from Duke University and her doctorate in economics from Northwestern University.

Further information: here

Leslie Marx resized

2019 Speakers

Invited Speakers

APIOC 2019

APIOC Program Committee


















Local Area Committee



Jay Pil Choi (Chair) – Michigan State University

John Asker – The University of California, Los Angeles

Reiko Aoki – Japan Fair Trade Commission

David Byrne – The University of Melbourne

Nisvan Erkal – The University of Melbourne

Simona Fabrizi – The University of Auckland

Yuk-fai Fong – The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Catherine de Fontenay – The University of Melbourne

Susumu Imai – Hokkaido University

Steffen Lippert – The University of Auckland

Simon Loertscher – The University of Melbourne

Hodaka Morita – Hitotsubashi University

Hiroshi Ohashi – The University of Tokyo

Nicholas de Roos – The University of Sydney

Matthew Shum – California Institute of Technology

Michelle Sovinsky – University of Manheim

Yasutora Watanabe – The University of Tokyo

Julian Wright – National University of Singapore


Hiroshi Ohashi (Chair) – The University of Tokyo

Reiko Aoki – Japan Fair Trade Commission

Jota Ishikawa – Hitotsubashi University

Daniel Marszalec – The University of Tokyo

Hodaka Morita – Hitotsubashi University

Yosuke Okada – Hitotsubashi University

Hiroyuki Okamuro – Hitotsubashi University

Hidenori Takahashi – Hitotsubashi University

Naoki Wakamori – The University of Tokyo