APIOC 2021

APIOC 2021

13 & 14 December, 2021

The APIOC was established in 2016, with the aim of fostering IO research among scholars and the building of their community in Asia and beyond.

APIOC 2021 was hosted by National University Singapore

Message from the Chair

Julian Wright

Welcome to the 2021 Asia Pacific Industrial Organization Conference (APIOC)

The APIOC was established in 2016 with the aim of fostering and disseminating frontier IO research among scholars in the Asia Pacific region and beyond. The first four conferences were held in Melbourne (in 2016 and 2018), Auckland (in 2017) and Tokyo (in 2019) and established the APIOC as a premier IO conference, attracting eminent researchers from around the world.

The conference was scheduled to be held in Singapore in 2020 but due to Covid had to be postponed. We were hoping to hold it physically in Singapore in 2021, but given ongoing travel restrictions we have decided to hold it virtually instead. Despite this, we will ensure the conference will provide plenty of time for discussions and networking between participants.

In addition to invited speakers, invited sessions, and regular parallel sessions, we will have talks by the top junior job market candidates and a policy forum on digital platforms. The conference time will extend from early morning to late evening Singapore time, which will allow all time zones around the world to participate throughout different parts of the day. While most of the sessions are already committed at this stage, we welcome high-quality submissions from the Asia-Pacific region for the parallel sessions. If you are interested, please submit your details on the submission page.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank the amazing program committee who are working with me to put on what we hope to be an outstanding conference. I would also like to thank Microsoft and NUS for their generous funding which has made this conference possible. Please join us in making this event a very special one for the IO community.

Julian Wright
Program Chair
National University of Singapore

julian wright

Keynote Speakers

Steven T. Berry
Yale University

Steven Berry is the David Swensen Professor in the Economics Department at Yale University, specializing in the empirical analysis of markets in equilibrium. He is a winner of the Frisch Medal of the Econometric Society, was elected to be a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2014 and was named the 2017 Distinguished Fellow of the Industrial Organization Society. At Yale, he has served as Department Chair, as Director of Division of Social Sciences and as inaugural Director of the Tobin Center at Yale, a research center focusing on domestic economic policy. He has served as a consultant for governments, policy institutes and the private sector, focusing on questions of antitrust as well as environmental and trade policy. Berry is also affiliated with the Cowles Foundation at Yale and is a Research Fellow at the NBER.

See more information on Steven Berry here.

steven berry colour

Dirk Bergemann
Yale University

Dirk Bergemann is Douglass and Marion Campbell Professor of Economics at Yale University. He has secondary appointments as Professor of Computer Science in the School of Engineering and Professor of Finance in the School of Management.

He has been affiliated with the Cowles Foundation for Research in Economics at Yale since 1996 and a fellow of the Econometric Society since 2007.

Dirk Bergemann was Chair of the Department of Economics from 2013-2019 and Co-Editor of Econometrica from 2014-2018. He was recently appointed as Co-Editor of American Economic Review: Insights, 2020- and is a Member of the Executive Committee of the Econometric Society 2021-.

His research is in the area of game theory, contract theory, venture capital and market design. His most recent work is in the area of dynamic mechanism design and dynamic pricing, robust mechanism design, and information design.

See more information on Dirk Bergemann here.

Dirk B

Invited Speakers - Emperical

Empirical Speakers

Greg Crawford, University of Zurich
Kate Ho, Princeton University
Jean-Francois Houde, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Ali Hortascu, University of Chicago
Ginger Jin, University of Maryland
Frank Verboven, University of Leuven
Daniel Yi Xu, Duke University

Invited Speakers - Theory

Theory Speakers

Alessandro Bonatti, MIT
Heski Bar-Isaac, University of Toronto
Andrea Galeoitti, London Business School
Alessandro Lizzeri, Princeton University
Jeanine Miklos-Thal, University of Rochester
Kathryn Spier, Harvard University
John Vickers, Oxford University

Conference Information

2021 Program and Presentations

The 2021 conference presentations can be viewed on the APIOS YouTube channel.